Fashion 101: Shoe Trees

So you’ve learned how to dress like a professional adult…now what?  Well, no matter what, if you are dressing right, you’ve dropped some cash to do so.  The key now is to maximize your investment in your appearance.

download (4)
Shoe trees: a small investment that goes a long way.

Shoes are a very important part of looking professional.  Its a seemingly minor detail that goes a long way.  You can put on the nicest suit in the world, but if your shoes don’t look good, you won’t look good.  Likewise, you can buy the nicest shoes in the world, but if they look like crap, you won’t look as professional as you can.

20130727_103548_1_bestshot
As you can see, these shoes had never been taken care of. Believe it or not, I worked pretty hard at cleaning these up before capitulating and buying new shoes so they look better here than they did when I wore them to work. What was I thinking wearing these to work?

When I first started learning how to dress properly after getting my hash settled by my boss I went out, replaced the golf pants i was wearing to work with some wool slacks and proudly walked into my bosses office to show off the new threads.  He looked at me, complemented me on buying “big boy pants” and then said “your shoes look like shit.”  He went on to explain to me that details, like shoes, have a much bigger effect than you think.

So, for the first time in my life, I bought dress shoes that cost over $100 and, as one of the cheapest men I know, I decided I had better make sure they last.

Shoe trees were a no-brainer.  For those of you who don’t know, a shoe tree is a wood or plastic insert you put in your shoes when you aren’t wearing them to keep their shape and prevent them from creasing (see picture on the right).  Cedar shoe trees also help keep your shoes smelling good.

20130726_090126_3_bestshot They are somewhat expensive (usually 20-40$ a pair).  If you are like me, there are few things more annoying than spending $150-$200 on shoes  and then dropping another $25 on trees.  Just remember, a $25 shoe tree is a lot cheaper than having to buy new shoes every year or two because they wear out.

Also, some shoe retailers throw in free or steeply discounted trees when you buy a pair of shoes.

Don’t just take my word for it, listen to the experts.

Related articles
Leave a Reply

